Coucnil Banner Image

Local Elections

Local Elections

The most recent Local Elections took place on Friday 23rd May 2014. The next Local Elections will take place on Friday 24th May 2019.

The Local Electoral Area Boundary Committee Report 2018recommended a number of changes to South Dublin County Council’s Local Electoral Areas effective for Local Elections 2014. The Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government signed the Local Electoral Area Order giving effect to these changes on 31st January 2014.

The Local Electoral Areas are as follows:

  • Clondalkin (8 seats)
  • Lucan (8 seats)
  • Rathfarnham (6 seats)
  • Tallaght Central (6 seats)
  • Tallaght South (6 seats)
  • Templeogue-Terenure (6 seats)

Map - SDCC Local Electoral Areas(Please note, the interactive local electoral map is currently being updated to reflect the above changes)

Who can vote at Local Elections? 

Every person aged 18 years or over on polling day is entitled to be registered as a local government elector for the local electoral area where they are ordinarily resident.

Expenditure and Donations

The Local Elections (Disclosure of Donations and Expenditure) Act 1999 provides for an expenditure and donations disclosure regime at local elections. Since the last local elections in 2009 there have been a number of legislative changes to the rules on election spending and donations that apply at local elections. These are contained in the Local Government Reform Act 2014 and the Electoral (Amendment) (Political Funding) Act 2012.

The 2014 Guidelines for Candidates and the Guidelines for National Agents, Designated Persons and Third Parties reflect these changes. The statutory obligations for candidates and those for national agents of a political party, designated persons and third parties are set out in the respective guidelines.

Election Posters

Guidelines for placing election posters

A-Z of All Services