Coucnil Banner Image

National Disability Strategy

National Disability Strategy

National Disability Strategy


The National Disability Inclusion Strategy (NDIS) 2017 - 2021 was launched by Government in July 2017 to underpin the participation of disabled people in Irish Society. The strategy builds on existing policy and legislation, including the policy of mainstreaming public services for disabled people.


The Strategy comprises the following eight themes: 

  • Equality and Choice 
  • Joined up policies and public services 
  • Education
  • Employment
  • Health and Wellbeing 
  • Person centered disability services 
  • Living in the Community; and 
  • Transport and access to places 


About the Disability Act 2005


The Disability Act 2005 places a number of requirements on public bodies, including local authorities and the Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage, principally:


  • Section 25 requires that public bodies ensure that their public buildings are, as far as practicable, made accessible to disabled people not later 2015;
  • Section 26 requires that public bodies, where practicable and appropriate, ensure their mainstream public services are accessible for disabled people, and provide assistance if requested, with Access Officers appointed to co-ordinate arrangements;
  • Section 27 requires that services supplied to public bodies are accessible to disabled people, unless it would not be practicable or justifiable on cost grounds or would result in an unreasonable delay;
  • Section 28 requires that public bodies, as far as practicable, communicate in forms that are accessible;
  • Section 29 requires that heritage sites, to which the public has access, are accessible, as far as practicable, to disabled people;
  • Sections 38, 39 and 40 specify complaints and inquiry procedures; and
  • Section 47 requires that, in so far as practicable, all reasonable measures are taken to promote and support the employment by public bodies of disabled people.


For more information visit:

Department of Justice

Disability - The Department of Justice


Department of Children, Equality, Disability, Integration and Youth - Department of Children, Equality, Disability, Integration and Youth (


The full Disability Act 2005 can be accessed or downloaded from the following website: