Coucnil Banner Image

Toghcháin Áitiúla

Local Elections

The Local Elections 2014 took place on Friday 23rd May 2014.


The Local Electoral Area Boundary Committee Report 2013 recommended a number of changes to South Dublin County Council’s Local Electoral Areas effective for Local Elections 2014. The Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government signed the Local Electoral Area Order giving effect to these changes on 31st January 2014.

The Local Electoral Areas are as follows:

  • Clondalkin (8 seats)
  • Lucan (8 seats)
  • Rathfarnham (6 seats)
  • Tallaght Central (6 seats)
  • Tallaght South (6 seats)
  • Templeogue-Terenure (6 seats)

Map - SDCC Local Electoral Areas 2014

Who can vote at Local Elections? 
Every person aged 18 years or over on polling day is entitled to be registered as a local government elector for the local electoral area where they are ordinarily resident.

Candidates running in the Local Elections 
A candidate may nominate himself or herself as a candidate or, with his or her consent, may be nominated by a person who is registered as a local government elector in the local electoral area where the candidate proposes to stand for election. A separate nomination paper is required for each local electoral area for which a candidate is nominated.

Receipt of Nomination Papers
The period for receipt of nominations commences at 10 a.m. on Saturday, 26th April 2014 and ends at 12 noon on Saturday, 3rd May 2014. Nominations papers can be lodged during this week only by appointment with the Local Returning Officer.

A nomination paper from a candidate of a registered political party must have a certificate of political affiliation attached.

If no certificate is attached, one or other of the following procedures must be complied with before the expiration of the time for receiving nominations –

  1. the completion of statutory declarations by 15 assentors registered as local government electors in the relevant local electoral area which must be witnessed by a Commissioner for Oaths, a Peace Commissioner, a Notary Public, a member of the Garda Síochána or an official of the registration authority, or
  2. the candidate, or someone on his or her behalf, lodging a deposit of €100 with the local returning officer.

Nomination Papers:

Statutory Declarations by Assentors

Further information on the nomination process and eligibility for election can be found on the accompanying notes on the nomination form (LE1 English/Irish).

Further information on the Statutory Declarations by Assentors (LE1A English/Irish) can be found on the accompanying notes.

Expenditure and Donations
The Local Elections (Disclosure of Donations and Expenditure) Act 1999 provides for an expenditure and donations disclosure regime at local elections. Since the last local elections in 2009 there have been a number of legislative changes to the rules on election spending and donations that apply at local elections. These are contained in the Local Government Reform Act 2014 and the Electoral (Amendment) (Political Funding) Act 2012.

The 2014 Guidelines for Candidates and the Guidelines for National Agents, Designated Persons and Third Parties reflect these changes. The statutory obligations for candidates and those for national agents of a political party, designated persons and third parties are set out in the respective guidelines.

Election Posters

Guidelines for placing election posters